[insert stereotypical “this is my first blog post!” title here]

Well. So as my subheading says, FB notes can be overrated and I more importantly wanted an outlet to start to express my music obsession more publicly, along with whatever else I feel like. Thats the beauty of a blog, I ‘spose.  So, here goes…

5 Comments on “[insert stereotypical “this is my first blog post!” title here]”

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Fuck says:

    Your taste in music sucks, stop listening to music for the wrong reasons. This shit is terrible compared to what else is out there. What you would call “secular” (read: normal) music defeats this lame crap so thoroughly in every genre it’s ridiculous.

  3. getterz says:

    Ok. First of all, if you honestly think my musical taste is crap, thats fine. But if all you’re gonna do is throw profanities and lofty unsupported statements my way its hard to take your comments seriously. Secondly, this blog has been up all of 2 days and you really have no idea of what the whole spectrum of my musical tastes is.

    I’d like to know what you think my wrong reasons are. Contrary to how it may seem, I don’t toss secular music out the window. I choose what I listen to based on my enjoyment, not based on an agenda or perceived propaganda. Also, what makes music “abnormal” versus “normal”? Lyrical content?

    I hope I haven’t come across as sounding too elitist of self righteous. I don’t have a problem with you at all. Just the way your comment was phrased.

  4. Fuck says:

    1.) “But if all you’re gonna do is throw profanities and lofty unsupported statements my way its hard to take your comments seriously.”

    I have to support my claim that the music you enjoy is terrible? It’s self-evident. Do I need to supply evidence for why a recording of me beating off to the tune of jingle bells is shitty music?

    2.) “Secondly, this blog has been up all of 2 days and you really have no idea of what the whole spectrum of my musical tastes is.”

    Please enlighten me. What non-shitty non-christian music do you enjoy? Let’s see how many reviews they get on this blog.

    3.) “I’d like to know what you think my wrong reasons are. Contrary to how it may seem, I don’t toss secular music out the window. I choose what I listen to based on my enjoyment, not based on an agenda or perceived propaganda. Also, what makes music “abnormal” versus “normal”? Lyrical content?”

    This is a lie. You just happen to enjoy almost exclusively christian artists? Gee, what a coincidence. To answer your question, I would say that picking and choosing which bands to listen to based only on how christian they are is far from normal. Actually, using that as an influencing factor in any capacity is laughably cultish. Jesus would listen to thrash metal.

    I compared “normal” music to christian music (not necessarily “abnormal” music. That is your word) and yes; the distinction between (the entire subset of) christian and normal music lies in the lyrics, theme, presentation, and quality (seeing as christian bands inexplicably happen to be shitty musically in addition to impossibly lame).

  5. getterz says:

    Okay. Some “secular” bands I enjoy include Muse, Death Cab, Jimmy Eat World, Iron & Wine, Sigur Ros, The Decemberists, Foo Fighters, Silversun Pickups, and Jack Johnson. And I plan on attending Muse w/ Metric come November. I didn’t pick these bands because they are “trendy”. If that were the case, I would have missed the bandwagon. Yes, they will be reviewed on this blog.

    How many of the bands (of which I’ve still mentioned very few) on this blog have you actually listened to? What specifically have you encountered in your listening habits that’s caused you to reach this conclusion? (I don’t mean for it to sound like I’m personally attacking you, I’ve heard similar things elsewhere and just want to better understand this perspective).

    I concede that a lot of music made by bands of faith is mediocre at best. But to dismiss every band with members that have a belief in Christ as “shitty” is ignorant. Yes, I know you did not explicitly say that, but that’s what I’m inferring from your statements. And yes, because of my beliefs if a band’s beliefs come out in their lyrics I do appreciate that, but its not the primary way I segregate my listening habits. A couple of years ago, yes that was probably the case but in recent years I’ve come to expand my horizons. And, I have an interest in that realm of the music industry so yes, as a result I happen to come across more new artists that way so the reviews on this site will lean that way a lot of the time.


Leave a Reply

