Falling Up to the Blue Ghost, amidst the Slow Waves

I know I said that Tuned Up! would be my music blog, but since this blog is more about life in general, I don’t see the problem with picking apart some songs that I’ve been hooked on lately.

Falling Up has been one of my favorite bands for very long time, and lately I’ve been thinking about two tracks from their latest release. Here are the lyrics to “Slow Waves,” also a great ambient track.

They had my lungs on machines
Their rhythm is pumping air – I’m terrified
But I won’t let my hope go
I won’t let my heart keep from leaping out
It’s leaping out

To me, this is a gentle reminder not to let the things that weigh us down keep us from pursuing our passions, and that God will lead us every step of the way. The periodic rhythm of trials can indeed “pump air” into our lives in a way that terrifies us. We mustn’t lose hope, nor prevent our hearts from leaping out into the arms of Christ.

Here are the lyrics to “Blue Ghost”:

You can see I am in shock
To catch you wearing wires underneath your heart
It was mechanical
But we were born to endless architecture
Spinning to a fault and infinitely strewn
Where you’d be ahead of your time

Cause in this place it’s beautiful

Tracing lines your flaws connect the starry skies
He is tracing lines like flashes right before your eyes
Grace comes like a thief in the night
It comes like a thief in the night
It blooms in the weak and the blind

Then they finished their machine
It’s algorithmic parts perfectly in time
And that’s how they found you
But listen you are born into a landscape
That’s glittering like water and covered by a blood
It has been bruised at the heel, the wire’s been cut

I interpret the first stanza to mean that while it might initially be a shock to discover that motives of humanity may be flawed fundamentally, we were born in a universe that “spins with a fault (sin)”, so it really shouldn’t be that surprising.

In the chorus, I believe it is referring to how God is able to trace the lines of a sin-tainted universe and use it all for His glory. Grace comes like a thief in the night because God manifests Himself often in ways we wouldn’t expect. That is, when we are weak, He is strong, no matter what the enemy might try to tell us.

The second stanza I think is talking about how if we look hard enough, we can find God in everything we do. Phil Ryken gave an excellent sermon at the academic convocation of Wheaton College (so weird I’m not there right now) about how the eternal signifance of a liberal arts education – Learning will not end with the current age transforming into the one in which the cosmos are renewed by God. True learning ought to point to the nature of God, and leave us in awe. The truth is that this destiny of God with us came at a price, Christ’s death on the cross (“You were born into a landscape that’s glittering like water and covered with blood (of Christ)”).

Leave a Reply

