“Patience and Silence”

It’s been an interesting week. Work is speeding up, I’m getting new ideas about vocations, a lot of fun stuff has been going on, some past regrets have worried me a bit, and I’ve been thinking about the future a lot. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been enjoying myself a lot. God has definitely been reaching out to me a lot to encourage me, and He has been answering prayers to reveal Himself in new ways (more on that in a later post). Basically my mind has been racing a lot this week.

Maybe you can relate. Its September, so you are likely in some transition period right now (I think the beginning of the year ought to be now, not January). New school year, or else getting used to getting used to the “real world” like me. The band My Epic does a phenomenal job communicating these feelings and God’s response to this in their song “Patience and Silence.” Here are the lyrics:

I’ve never had the spine I lead them to believe, the devil born in me feeds me lies.
He creeps into my mind and spreads confusion until I’m left with fear of what could be and doubt of what has been.

Truth be told, I’d rather not know, it’s so much easier to quit, it’s just so easy not to care.
Truth be told, I’d rather not go, I want to run away and never come back again.

If all the world should come against me, I’d like to think that I could stand, but I’m not always sure that they don’t have Your hand.

You’re the only one to fear, because You’re the only one who loves me as I am.
You alone are my Defender. You alone will be my Judge.

I just need to remember that time you told me…
You’re the only one to fear. (Patience…) You’re the only one who loves me as I am. (Silence…) And You alone are my Defender. (Patience…) You alone will be my Judge. (Silence…)

Peace be still. Peace be still.

2 Comments on ““Patience and Silence””

  1. Erik says:

    Those are some really rich lyrics. “Truth be told, I’d rather not know, it’s so much easier to quit, it’s just so easy not to care.” I think a lot of young people going through these transitions you speak of Ryan can easily fall into apathy because they lose sight of their God-given dreams. I hope you never give up on your passions, Ryan! God gave you a particular set of skills and passions so that you could uniquely glorify Him by putting them to use!


Leave a Reply

